Need quality death metal fast? press...
Need quality death metal fast, press...

Voivod -Spectrum 1987 cd


Out of stock

SKU: Cd 48c Categories: , ,


Voivod (singer Denis “Snake” Belanger, guitarist Denis “Piggy” d’Amour, drummer Michel Away Langevin, and bassist Jean-Yves “Blacky” Theriault) were one of the first thrash bands from Canada to gain popularity outside of their home country. From their beginning in the early 80s, their main goal was to be different from anyone else, and thus they incorporated odd musical tempos and futuristic story lines into their songs, often dealing with technology taking over the world. With their unique style of performing and writing, Voivod opened the way for other Canadian thrash and metal bands. Such early releases as 1984’s War and Pain and 1986’s Rrroooaaarrr showed that the quartet was aligned with the then up-and-coming thrash metal movement (Metallica, Slayer, Anthrax), eventually letting their prog rock influences (Pink Floyd, Rush, King Crimson) seep in on their third album, 1987’s Killing Technology. Killing Technology would be conceived at Musiclab Studios in Berlin with producer Harris Johns in October and November 1986. ‘Killing Technology’ was then taken out on the road in North America in April and May 1987 with support act being none other than German Thrashers Kreator, the two bands uniting further for European gigs in November. The Spectrum release was originally a live demo sold through the Iron Gang fan club in September of 1987. This tape was recorded at Spectrum in Montreal on the 21st of April 1987. The live cassettes were taped and then copied without any overdubs or mixings. Its fun to walk down the memory lane and listen to this recording again however the only down point is that the cd much or less has the same sound as the old cassette. However the Voivod fans of today still need this one

Track listing:
1. Killing Technology
2. Overreaction
3. Ravenous Medicine
4. Tornado
5. Korgull The Exterminator
6. Ripping Headaches
7. Blower
8. Live For Violence
9. Tribal Convictions
10. Order Of The Blackguards
11. Cockroaches
12. To The Death
13. Voivod
14. Batman

Additional information


Classic Series Records

Release Year

Catalogue Number

Classic Series 5 of 7